GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So… I awoke to see the 21&22 Bolts now are also being recalled.
This is my first time ever bringing a vehicle for a “major” recall and I am somewhat uncomfortable because it’s a ~3month old car.
So… does anyone know what I should ask for? Is there anything the dealer (thru GM) should do above and beyond for me here? Considering the circumstances and supply chain issues, will they be able to fix the issues in a relative short period of time?

thank you for your knowledge!

·
Registered
155 Posts
I really don't think it will be fixed in a short period of time. They announced the recall, but from what I've read they aren't producing "fixed" battery packs yet. Combined with a microchip shortage and things will take a while.

How much do you like the car? If you like it and can charge safely outside and within the recommended range, you could keep it. If I were you, I'd request a buyback. A car is too much of a purchase for me to wait months or potentially a year to be able to use to its advertised capacity.

At the very least, if you aren't personally comfortable driving the car, I would expect a competent dealership to give you a loaner vehicle until the recall can be repaired.

Just my two cents.

·
Registered
3,951 Posts
I really don't think it will be fixed in a short period of time. They announced the recall, but from what I've read they aren't producing "fixed" battery packs yet. Combined with a microchip shortage and things will take a while.

How much do you like the car? If you like it and can charge safely outside and within the recommended range, you could keep it. If I were you, I'd request a buyback. A car is too much of a purchase for me to wait months or potentially a year to be able to use to its advertised capacity.