GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'm new to GM and Onstar and did not realize exactly what data they were collecting until they sent me the first "Smart Driver Report." Not sure I'm comfortable with what they have collected. I un-enrolled in the program and they promised to delete all of the data. Sharing this in case anybody else is curious.

Here is what they sent me: Smart Driver Report

·
Registered
23 Posts
In a world with increasingly limited " TRUE " privacy that doesn't surprise me. However, I agree that is pretty intrusive. The question is if you can truly opt out. That data may still be gathered but just not shared with you.

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
wow, thats kind of scary. Though I can see it being beneficial if you have a teen/young adult driving. Kind of a tattle tale report. Although I'm sure it would be more important for insurance companies to have access to data like that, it's still frightening how much data they can gather. Is there anything in any of the agreements you may have signed or said yes to that had this level of data collection listed in the fine print? Although like many, I'm not fond of having data collected about my driving habits (seriously LATE NIGHT DRIVING?!?!) or anything in general, I also don't have anything to hide and have more or less accepted that in a digital age where even your cell phone tracks your every move, even what apps were run and for how long and reports back to google/apple as being the norm. I do however have to point out that we know these devices/services are available and clearly operational. Even with your request to deactivate the service, I'm sure it's still likely that the data is still collected and stored since its almost certainly programmed in the code to collect and report. The big question however is, what does OnStar/GM do with the data for those who un-enroll?

·
Registered
2,634 Posts