GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Volt Premier Citron Green
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing component-level electronic repairs for the past 50 years. I have an educated hunch at which type of component(s) are going bad in the BECM. I would love to get my hands on one to see if I could repair it. If I can fix one, I could probably fix nearly all of them.

·
Administrator
23,122 Posts
From another thread:

If anyone has a BECM that has failed and wants it repaired, please let me know and we can arrange to have it sent to me for inspection. If it cannot be repaired I will return it in the same condition at my expense. If it can be repaired, I will do the first one at no charge.
For those with long wait times on replacement BECM's this could be of interest.

Reactions: VOLTandaBOLT

·
Registered
2013 Volt
43 Posts
It would be interesting to crack open of those BECM modules open and see if there is any obvious burned components. I've wondered why the Gen 2 is having so many go bad. Most of the modules I've seen for the Volts have MADE IN JAPAN stickers on them. That use to be a bad thing, now as we all know Japan is one of the leaders in manufacturing design and quality. Especially automotive and electronics. Being located on top of the battery could possibly getting hotter than the engineers thought it would? If you could narrow down the component level culprit it would most likely be a surface mount part. Not a problem to replace with the right soldering tools/bench. If it is a surface mount IC issue, I've found a lot of those are proprietary chips designed specifically for that module. So you might run into the same issue the manufacture is having getting the chips. But definitely worth opening one up and taking a look.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·