GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I live in Southern California and don't get my Volt exposed too much to any extreme cold weather, with the exception of driving regularly to Mammoth Mountain for snowboarding.

I am new to the Volt--not even had it a month, so referring to Chapter 5, Page 44 of my Owner's Manual (see except below), what happens when I'm up there and the temps are in the single digits and I need to drive it? What are my options?

I will probably be at a place with no way to charge my car and parked outside in the elements during the weekends that I'm there. I plan on being on gasoline during those trips.

BATTERY TOO COLD, PLUG IN
TO WARM

This message displays during
extremely cold temperatures, when
the vehicle will not start until the
high voltage battery is warm
enough.

Plug the vehicle in and make sure
the power button is off to allow the
charging system to warm the high
voltage battery, then the vehicle can
be started.

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Oops. It turns out the HV battery starts the ICE. If the electrolye of the HV battery freezes, the ICE can not start. Thus, If its too cold for the battery, and you can't plug in, I refer you to the experience of the Donner Party.

Another thread referenced a GM tech type who gave -15F for frozen electrlyte...no current.

·
Administrator
20,582 Posts
You'll be fine. They are referring to leaving your car for an extended cold soak. While driving in cold temps, the ICE will come on to keep the cabin warm. The battery thermal management system will also help keep the battery warm. The battery pack is also insulated.

But lets say you let your car sit outside in frigid weather for long enought for this message to popup. Simply plug in the car and it will warm the battery up.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts