GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using a dashcam for a couple of years now and it was pretty much permanently on my '13 Volt.

It has definitely come in handy, especially when this lady, in a parking lot, backed into my car and claimed that I rear ended her. I showed her the dash cam and she changed her story real quick.

Anyway, I really miss the small compartment that was on top of the dash in the '13... it even came complete with a car charging port, which allowed me to not have to worry about concealing wires or snaking them throughout the car.

Unfortunately, as you all know, that feature is inexplicably gone (like the garage door opener).

Anyone have a setup that you'd like to show off? I am particularly looking for a setup that won't require any drilling (if that is needed) since this vehicle is a lease.

·
Banned
398 Posts
I do. It's mounted just in front of the mirror and taps power from there too. It's very clean. I'll post some pics in the morning.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Awesome, I look forward to seeing it! How did you tap into the power of the mirror? Sorry, I'm not very technically inclined when it comes to cars.

·
Registered
425 Posts
not a dashcam, but I mount my iPhone 6S+ directly above the main infotainment screen using a mount affixed to the dash instead of the windshield .... it sits just nicely above the main screen and does me well when I want to use Waze rather than onboard nav. (will see if I can get a pic)

[apologies for the dusty fingermarked screens - the camera flash shows up every little speck !!!]

Attachments

·
Registered
43 Posts