GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just dropped off my 2014 Volt today and picked up my new 2017 Volt (woo hoo!), so I am a brand spanking newbie when it comes to Android Auto. I have three questions about Android Auto turn-by-turn navigation that I can't find answered in the Android Auto help site:

1. Will Android Auto turn-by-turn navigation work if I don't have a data plan on my phone or wifi access in the car?

2. Can I get it to simultaneously display the navigation on the Volt's screen and give me voice navigation?

3. Are third-party offline navigation apps (such as Navmii) compatible with Android Auto?

Many thanks.

JEP

·
Registered
89 Posts
I just dropped off my 2014 Volt today and picked up my new 2017 Volt (woo hoo!), so I am a brand spanking newbie when it comes to Android Auto. I have three questions about Android Auto turn-by-turn navigation that I can't find answered in the Android Auto help site:

1. Will Android Auto turn-by-turn navigation work if I don't have a data plan on my phone or wifi access in the car?

2. Can I get it to simultaneously display the navigation on the Volt's screen and give me voice navigation?

3. Are third-party offline navigation apps (such as Navmii) compatible with Android Auto?

Many thanks.

JEP
Turn by turn will work without data connection as long as your phone has cached the map data for anywhere you plan on going. I try to keep map data for larger areas downloaded on my just in case.

You won't get any traffic or other real time information without data.

With Android Auto everything comes over your car display, including voice prompts. The phone pretty much can't be used directly while running Android Auto connection. Attempting to use the phone directly all you can get to are your notification shade, everything else is blacked out.