GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Volt community,

First as this is my first post, a big thanks to the creator of this site and to the gm-Volt community. I was able to find so many answers to my concerns before ordering my Volt (and dropping the idea of buying a Leaf).

I still fill guilty to have spent so much money in a car. I have been riding year round my ebike for my 12 miles RT for the past 7 years as I could not bare with staying in traffic more than 2 minutes. OK long story short: I just felt in love with the technology and quiet driving of the Volt so my factory order is on going.

Back to my question. I have seen a number of posts related to grille blocking on hybrids. I understand that the main purpose of this hack is to keep the temperature within a range where the efficiency of the gas engine is maxed out.

On the Volt, I would like to do something similar but for slightly different reasons:
- I plan to keep this car very long as for the other cars I owned i.e. 10-15 years so anything which could increase reliability is welcome.
- Most of the modules in the compartment engine have an aluminum housing which corrode with salt we have on roads 4-5 month a year.
-If you look at a 10 years radiator, you can see as cluttered it can be and how fins could be damaged reducing its efficiency.
- Hose cleaning the engine is not that exiting to me and I would like to keep it as clean as possible with minimum maintenance.

With that in mind, I was thinking of putting some sort of filters in the lower air intake. This could be furnace filters I could put apart to get rid of the frame and use several layers to catch salt and dirt. This approach would be flexible enough to put multiple layers in cold temperature and only one layer in summertime. The air flow can be modulated with the number of layers I put.