GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Preface- GM’s lackluster treatment of the awesome Volt has done me in.

In 1992, while still an active duty naval officer stationed in Charleston, SC, I received a credit card offer for the best deal some of you probably don’t even remember. GM’s initial card offering was 5% UNLIMITED rebate toward the purchase of any new GM vehicle. I could actually buy an entire car on rebate! Wow! Had times changed.

When I graduated college several years earlier, banks were stingy with credit. I couldn’t even get a Visa card from AAA after joining. I had to borrow a friend’s card to purchase a washer/dryer after I was commissioned. Indeed, it turned out to be USAA who gave me my first real credit card. But somewhere along the way, things changed. They started throwing credit at people- and giving us money BACK!!!

For those of us who bought new GM cars, there was no sweeter deal. My GM card became my everything card. I was able to build up the rebate fast and got over a thousand bucks back just a year and a half later when I bought a 1993 Buick Roadmaster. That was the first of 7 vehicles I received rebates on totaling over $15,000 (resulting from over $300,000 in purchases). However, the sweet deal was not to last. After a handful of years, GM sent me a letter that, henceforth, my rebate limit would be capped at $500 per year and those rebates had a 7 year shelf life. The math shows that the card becomes pointless after you spend $10,000. My ‘everything’ card was relegated to the back of my wallet for most of the year, and I had to watch how much I spent before I reached that limit. It actually grew quite cumbersome to manage.