GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this volt forum, and have purchased my first volt. I have seen some great advice/recommendations while searching this forum and looking forward to driving the volt.
I have a TPW of May 16th 2016 for my 2017 Volt and have a trip planned for the middle of June. I should receive the Volt by then and if I do,I will make the trip with the Volt. One way distance is 500 KM or 310 miles. I will make sure The volt is fully charged and a full tank of gas. The major highway is approx. 10KM from my house. What mode would the experienced Volt users use during this trip to maximize mileage for electric/Gas ?

V o l t 2017

·
Registered
2,778 Posts
Normal mode until you get on the highway. Hold mode while on the highway. Normal mode when off the highway.

Electric will give you the best efficiency on local streets. Hold mode will be most efficient at highway speeds.

Or, don't worry about it. Just drive it like any other car.

·
Registered
638 Posts
What TSquare said, enjoy you new Volt...

·
Registered
13,558 Posts
If money is no object, get a Bolt and a Malibu Hybrid. Alternatively, you could save tons of cash by just keeping the volt - that saved cash pays for an awful lot of miles of fuel. So ultimately, it's what WOT said.

·
Registered
3,468 Posts
Hmmm, I wonder how hard it would be to add an automated drive mode setting..."Enable Hold-Mode when traveling 65MPH+ after 60 seconds"

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
I did some really rough and ready studying of the characteristics of my gen 1 volt and the cutoff seems to be around 47 mph.

Once you hit a steady 47mph or faster is when the rEX seems to be into it's best efficiency range.

So for long trips I save the battery for the in-town/slow and stop/start traffic at the beginning and end, or for any highway slowdowns, and I use HOLD mode once I'm up above 45mph and steady at speed.