GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry, I'm a volt noob lol (finally got delivery of my volt last night yay). But is the advertised MPG when using hold mode? Mountain, or something else I'm not aware of? lol

·
8,680 Posts
Sorry, I'm a volt noob lol (finally got delivery of my volt last night yay). But is the advertised MPG when using hold mode? Mountain, or something else I'm not aware of? lol
Yes. In Hold mode, Mountain mode or Normal Mode you should see the same mileage in any given set of driving conditions, once the car reaches the target State of Charge. (If you switch to Mountain Mode after the battery has run down and it has to push the engine harder to charge the battery back up, you'll see worse mileage for a ten or fifteen miles, until the car gets the charge up, then it'll start behaving like the others.)

·
Registered
4,839 Posts
Your mileage will vary but overall you should have no problem exceeding the Gen 2 Volt's 42 MPG combined EPA fuel economy figures when using gas. (The Gen 1 Volt generally gets a few less MPG than the Gen 2 when using gas,) For best efficiency makes sure the gas engine has a chance to fully warm up, 8 - 10 miles usually will get the engine coolant to ~190F or higher. Maintain tire pressure, many Volt owners prefer to set cold tire pressure to ~40 PSI but try several pressure settings and find what gives you the best comfort and road handling. Keep speed under 70 MPH for best efficiency whether using gas or when driving the Volt in normal electric mode.

·
Registered
174 Posts
The advertised MPG would be the mpg you get after the car switches from electric to gasoline like the remaining miles of a long trip without stopping to recharge the traction battery, that is not including the battery miles. Mine usually gets around 38 with all types of driving, mountain and city included.

·
Administrator
20,583 Posts