GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all-
I'm looking to solicit some opinions. I've got a Volt soon to be on the way - TPW 11/28. I'd like to buy, not lease. I've been paying the AMT for a few years, and I don't think that's likely to change. Based on some 'Googling', most of which returned me to various threads in this forum, because of the AMT, I don't think that I'll be eligible for the $7500 tax credit.
Not long ago, I recall that some GM dealers were being criticized for selling Volts to one another, and claiming the tax credit for themselves. If, in fact, a dealer can do this, i.e. 'purchase' the Volt, does anyone think it may be reasonable/legal for my dealer to 'purchase' my Volt, and then sell it to me at a reduced price, since they'll be able to 'claim' the tax credit? Wouldn't that be somewhat analagous to a leasing arrangement in which the capitalized cost of the Volt is reduced by the leasing company that keeps the tax credit? As someone else noted in a similar thread, it's somewhat irksome, if not a bit counterintuitive, that many individuals within a targeted demographic likely to purchase a Volt are ineligible for the federal incentive that was created to spur its sales...

·
Registered
915 Posts
The credit is not subject to AMT since 2010 returns. I'm sure some folks on the board here that claimed the credit on last years return can confirm

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/taxevb.shtml

Click On 'claiming the credit'

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
Can you get a buddy to buy the car, have the dealer agree to sell it without registering it for street use, have your friend turn around and sell it to you for a little profit, they claim the $7500, and then you register it?

You might have to shop dealers willing to work with you on that paperwork process. But there are thousands of dealers to try in the US.

·
Registered
857 Posts