GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Yesterday when driving home from work, my Volt chirped 5 times. 5 little dings in a row. It happened 3 times, twice on the highway, once on city streets.

The dings sounded like a door open alert. I have no idea what it was trying to tell me.

I've only had the Volt for a week now so I'm still learning about the car, but this one was weird. I thought it might have something to do with traffic alerts up ahead with the navigation, but I couldn't find anything in the nav screen to indicate a chirping alert system.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
I'm not entirely sure. Did you happen to have a heavy bag in a seat? If there is a heavy enough object in any of the seats, you will get dings for the seat belt not being buckled.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nope. Passenger seat was empty. And, no warning message came on either.

·
Registered
513 Posts
We get that when we set a package on the rear seat. Look at the top center of your driver's display to see if those 2 little symbols for the rear seat passenger belts are lit.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Could be the charge door opened while driving. It has happened to me a few times when I was not very careful closing the door firmly.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
Hi everyone,

Yesterday when driving home from work, my Volt chirped 5 times. 5 little dings in a row. It happened 3 times, twice on the highway, once on city streets... ...Any ideas?
Since it happened while driving, to be on the safe side, suggest pressing the OnStar button and asking if any codes are reported. If yes, ask for the details and then follow up with your dealer's service department.

KNS

·
Registered
3,101 Posts
Since it happened while driving, to be on the safe side, suggest pressing the OnStar button and asking if any codes are reported. If yes, ask for the details and then follow up with your dealer's service department.

KNS