GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been keeping track for 4 years now the kWh / 100 miles from the OnStar monthly diagnostic emails. I have charted this using the monthly average temperature as reported by the Capital Weather Gang from the Washington Post.

Since I rarely (very rarely) use climate control, the differences can solely be attributed to changes in outside temperature. I have gotten a bit more efficient in my driving starting around year #3. This can be attributed to me raising my tire PSI to 50 and more use of neutral in my driving. There is a drop-off in year #4 due to having to replace my worn out tires.

I have included two versions of the charts, one a line chart with a primary and secondary axis for temperate and kWh/100 miles and scatter chart with temperature on the X-Axis and kWh/100 miles on the Y axis. Finally, for a sanity check I have added yearly averages for temperature and kWh/100 miles.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
Very interesting. From the scatter graph it looks like there's a "knee" on the curve at temperatures around 50F - above that there's not a lot of change in efficiency and below that efficiency starts to drop more significantly.

Useful info, thanks for taking the time to post!

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
Thanks for sharing your data. It appears that year 3 provided the best mileage efficiency. Maybe I'm reading too much into that but still very interesting data.

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for sharing your data. It appears that year 3 provided the best mileage efficiency. Maybe I'm reading too much into that but still very interesting data.
It is called new tires, I replaced them at 55K miles in August 2014! Also, year #4 was a little colder.

·
Registered
918 Posts
Ari, are you seeing any battery degradation now?

·
Registered
1,740 Posts
Hmm, I can't view your graphs for some reason but your experience seems to match my own.