GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the 2017 NAV Is there a Gen 1 like "RPT" button or function? I used that one a lot (Gen 1 2014) both to set the NAV voice volume and if I thought I missed something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Talked with the Volt advisor and an infotainment specialist today. The NAV "RPT" repeat function is gone in the 2016/2017.

I was hoping there was some way to repeat an instruction from the touch screen, but apparently not. oh well, not an end of the world kind of problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
Just a suggestion, but did you try asking the voice command to repeat?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,489 Posts
I was hoping there was some way to repeat an instruction from the touch screen, but apparently not. oh well, not an end of the world kind of problem.
I'm a little unclear on this "repeat" concept in terms of setting up navigation. Could you give an example of how it would be used?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm a little unclear on this "repeat" concept in terms of setting up navigation. Could you give an example of how it would be used?
When using 2014 (probably a range of years to 2015) NAV, if you pushed the RPT button on the center console following the end of an instruction, it repeated the last instruction, or spoke a most up to date instruction.

I used it several ways. When NAV is speaking, the NAV (as opposed to Audio/Radio) volume can be adjusted. Changing ambient noise levels (windows down/up, highway/local) I could tap the RPT button to get NAV to speak, then make the volume adjustment while NAV was talking.

If NAV said to do something in 23 miles, you could tap RPT later to get an intermediate update with the new miles. (the miles to dest/nxt turn can be displayed on the 2016/2017) (i.e. Are we there yet?)

Also, if there was a distraction (passenger, outside noise, etc.), or if the NAV volume got turned down by accident, you could get the instruction to repeat. Occasionally, nearing a new instruction, NAV would say standby for next instruction, which was less than helpful.

Finally, if NAV had been quiet for a long time and you expected there might be a turn coming up, you could tap RPT to see if the NAV volume had been turned down (as by accident when meaning to turn the radio vol. to "0"), or just to see if NAV instructions were still alive.

Some of these uses were a little redundant. For example, the next turn can be shown on the map in the driver display. I just got in the habit of tapping RPT sometimes instead of looking at the screens.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,489 Posts
When using 2014 (probably a range of years to 2015) NAV, if you pushed the RPT button on the center console following the end of an instruction, it repeated the last instruction, or spoke a most up to date instruction.
Ah, I get it. It tells the system to repeat its last announcement. I was thinking it was a way to repeat some input that you had made. Thanks for the clarification.

My Garmin GPS shows the last instruction (i.e., the upcoming turn) along with the distance to it in a bar at the top of the screen. If I miss the voice announcement I just glance at the top of the screen to see what it was. And given the weird way it pronounces some street names I sometimes have to do that anyway.

When there's quite a bit of distance to the next turn I often glance at it to see how far away it is. And if I'm traveling with someone I often turn the volume down or off, in which case that "next turn" bar becomes my primary navigation tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
There may be a version of repeat in the Gen 2 Nav. Whenever the box with the straight or turn arrow shows up on the map to the right, pressing the box seems to repeat the most recent instruction (at least in the garage, need to try it while driving). It's close to the old repeat, although it also brings up the turn by turn list, which then has to be canceled if you don't want the turn list overlaying the map.

IMO, another Nav feature that would be nice would be a single button press (a "soft button" would be fine) to go full screen. A lot of times, I feel the map gets crowded out by the header, footer, and other pop-ups, when all I want is to see the map filling most or all of the screen.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top