GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently changed my transmission fluid aka "electric drive unit fluid" with Dextron VI and was surprised by the condition, figured I'd share as a warning to others. Car is a 2016 Volt (makes fluid about 4 years old) with 73k miles, can't speak to previous owner's driving habits but the car was in great condition so don't think it was flogged. Seemed like a very proactive fluid change to me.

Anyhow, fluid was pitch black and had a hint of a burnt smell, I'm no expert but I was relieved to be changing the fluid given the condition. Fortunately there were absolutely no metal filings on the drain plug which I guess indicates good Voltec engineering by speed matching before engaging clutches. If you're interested in a long life for your Volt I would highly recommend this simple $30 (DIY) fluid change! The hardest part was removing the undercarriage aero panel. Watched YouTube videos to learn the procedure during the job so it took me about 2.5hrs from start to finish.

For reference, my only other two experiences with transmission fluid are: 2010 Honda Accord at 100k which was slightly worse than this, and a 2009 Hyundai Sonata at 100k (always had aggressive 1st gear engagement starting from 0mph) which had practically self destructed with significant metal filings and powerful burnt odor.

Pictures show the old fluid in a shallow container and the old black/new red fluid mixing as it runs out of the full level hole.

Attachments

·
Registered
32 Posts
I recently changed my transmission fluid aka "electric drive unit fluid" with Dextron VI and was surprised by the condition, figured I'd share as a warning to others. Car is a 2016 Volt (makes fluid about 4 years old) with 73k miles, can't speak to previous owner's driving habits but the car was in great condition so don't think it was flogged. Seemed like a very proactive fluid change to me.