GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving GEN I Volts since 2011. In that time I have climbed many mountains out west.

Recently I had my first scare with my 2014...

Driving from Phoenix to Flagstaff, I was in mountain mode the whole trip and had the AC on. The temp was 101 degrees. I hit the very first steep climb near Black Canyon City. As usual, 2 semi's going side-by side, slowed traffic down to 25 mph. When the traffic cleared, I punched it and accelerated to 50 mph. SUDDENLY THE VOLT STARTED SMOKING HEAVILY. I could see smoke billowing out the back. The RPM's seemed even higher than normal.

I had approximately 1 more mile to reach the plateau, so I put the Volt in "normal" mode and climbed the rest of that hill on electric. This shut off the engine and the smoke quit immediately. The electric range had dropped from 15 to 13 prior to this, and dropped to 12 by the time I reached the plateau.

Once up on the plateau, I put the Volt back into mountain mode. The engine came back on but did not smoke, and after a few minutes charged the battery back up to 15 miles reserve.

I had a few more steep climbs remaining before I got to Flagstaff, I took it easy on all of them. On one more steep climb, the RPM's seemed higher than normal again, but the engine did not smoke. To be safe, I put the Volt in Normal again to climb on electric only.

Upon arrival, I check all fluid and oil levels. All were at the appropriate levels.

MY THEORY is that I simply pushed the Volt too much while running the AC prior to the hill, and it simply overheated. I guess I should have treated the mountian with more respect.

2 days later, I drove back down the mountain. There is only one steep climb coming back down near Verde Valley, that is 5 miles long. I took it easy on this climb going 50 mph the whole way up. I had no issues and everything acted normal.