GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey everyone. I was converted to the Volt after it became apparent the Bolt was not feasible (especially post-2016 election). I've been driving a hybrid since 2012 and proudly touted its reliability and efficiency (even if it lacked most everywhere else).

But American-made hybrid innovation was too tempting so I took the plunge into the world of Chevrolet. In 2017 I bought a used 2013 Volt, pearl color, and loved it. That is, until it died yesterday at 106,000 miles.

I get it towed to the nearest Chevy dealership (Fred Beans in Bucks). I don't trust Chevy dealerships in general, having discovered first-hand how little they know about hybrid or (God forbid) all-electric vehicles. Still, my neighborhood mechanic wasn't going to help me here. I had no choice and the result came back like a kick in the pelvis: transmission problems with possible attached module issues on top of it. They recommend full transmission replacement ($6300) and don't know if it would need a new module after that (another $3000).

Obviously this is devastating. I'm going to need a new car at these quotes. But what really gets me is the reason the technicians gave as to the issue. According to them this is a "common" problem they've seen when the battery is not regularly charged and the owner instead mostly uses gasoline.

Are you kidding me? I need to charge constantly or else my transmission will get shot? How exactly does that work? This seems like BS to me, so I'm turning to this forum to see what you all think.

Any feedback is welcome. As for me? I expect to eat a lot of crow and sulk back to the Prius ranks (175k on my last Prius, 300k+ on the car I used in my driver's test--and both still on the road unlike my Chevy).

·
Registered
678 Posts
Seems odd since, with only a very minor exception, you are running full electric either way. The gas engine is just running a generator to charge the battery... I call BS on the dealer!