GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,890 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have a good idea about why the leather seats are being changed from perforated to non-perforated for 2013?

I'm no expert, but info online suggests that perforated seats are found more in luxury vehicles, and the intent is to improve ventilation, which keeps the seat cooler in the summer and makes the seat warmers more effective in the winter.

http://www.interiorleather.com/faq.html
"Q10: What is perforation? What are the advantages of perforation?
A10: Perforation are tiny holes found in the leather where the body touches. In most luxury vehicles such as mercedes benz, bmw, and porsche comes with perforated leather. By adding perforation to your vehicles interior, it will add a touch of class, allowing the leather to breath easier, add value to your vehicle, and creating a more luxury feel. It is also a great combination with seat heaters as perforation will allow the heat to penetrate the leather faster creating a faster warmer seat."

So is this just a cost-reduction?

Any other theories out there?

·
Registered
962 Posts
I don't know. I was wondering the same thing. I'd be a little surprised to learn it has anything to do with cost. It's an option, after all. So it doesn't affect the base price. Which is the most important number.

·
Registered
3,424 Posts
I didn't get the leather option because it WAS perforated, perforated is much easier to snag and tear, so my belief anyways

·
Registered
915 Posts
I prefer it when cars incorporate Perforated Alcantara into leather seats rather than all leather. I plan on having my panels replaced with perforated alcantara at some point. In the meantime i'm fine with the leather perforated seats.

Although they get dirty right above where my backside sits (my jeans belt area)

·
Registered
962 Posts