GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As instructed in my welcome email, I am making an introduction post.

I bought a well-equipped 2012 Chevy Volt from a dealer with 98k miles for $8800. It seemed to be in like-new condition and I could easily make the case that I can save in net energy costs that entire amount over the life of the car.

I'm an engineer and really love the technology. The dealership put brand new tires Run Flat tires on it. The combination of new tires and being non-LRR has my EV range lower than I would like in my first 1000 miles. I can get only about 34 miles range in near ideal temperature conditions. I downloaded mygreenvolt to help analyze things and I feel compelled to get as much understanding as I can before the 100k warranty runs out. I do know that the threshold for GM to consider the battery as degraded is 20% I think and thus my car is not likely to be considered as degraded. I also have learned in the forum that kwh used isn't a perfect measurement. In general, I am getting 9.6 which is a bit below what I saw as the normal range for a 1 year old 2012 which I think was 9.7 to 9.9.

I get about 38 or 39 MPG on ICE at 75 mph on long drives.

One area I could use some help on is finding a link to the user manual for the 2012 Navigation System. My car didn't come with any manuals so I bought one off Ebay. In the user manual it references a manual for the Navigation System. I can't find a link to it. Can anyone help me?

Also, if anyone can point me to how to use the time delay feature for radio. I didn't see it in the manual I have. It is self explanatory to use the "rec" button to rip CDs. Nice feature.

One strange thing that I have seen addressed here is that the radio always comes on when using anything that uses the screen. I guess I will default to Aux when I don't want to hear anything.