GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background:
Hi all, I have one of the very early Chevy Volts, I am the second owner, and the car has been virtually hastle-free its entire life. It now has 125,000 miles on it. It started having a problem last year when it sat in the driveway without being plugged in to the high voltage charge port or driven for approximately two months (in the summer). When I started driving it again, the car had a dead 12v battery. Given that the battery was a Delco and may have been the original unit that shipped with the car, I figured it didn't owe me anything and replaced it. I am a HIGHLY competent shade-tree mechanic (trans rebuilds, diff upgrades, engine retimings, engine rebuilds, etc.), so changing a battery is a cakewalk. But that's when the problems started.

The problem: