GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2011 Chevy volt 115,000 miles bought at towing auction and probably
Sat for a year, fully charged the battery with voltec charger, installed new 12 v battery, new plugs, new coil pack filled & filled with gas. Car drove on electric and the gas engine never started, and said engine unavailable and then loss of propulsion. Felt the engine and its cold still after 10 miles drive . I’m in Texas and it’s 90 degrees outside, any suggestions I’m new to the volt, o yea and it didn’t come with keys so I reprogrammed one from the Chevy house they cut me, thanks for your time

·
Registered
4,195 Posts
We'd need, at minimum, a list of every OBDII code showing, and if you got a Propulsion Power Reduced message, there will be at minimum about four different ones and probably closer to a dozen.

Be aware that it's both possible and likely that the car ended up in the auction because someone decided it was unreasonably expensive to fix.

·
Registered
2014 Cadillac ELR
787 Posts
Easy first check: car ON, open the hood. Engine should start. Get back to us...

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok pulled codes with my obd reader I bought,
P-1B0F
07A5
0AB9
1B03
0A40
1B0F
Ok I made sure the NEW 12v acid battery I put in is fully charged on trickle charger all night with battery disconnected, I tried to start car and it just turns the engine over some, I can see belt turning when doing it but then it says Engine not available loss of propulsion, even if I try opening the hood, the car is clean/flawless around the engine with no leaks, the car will drive on electricity fine just not very far, any help is appreciated, I’m mechanically inclined and don’t know much else to do, the Chevy house said the transmission is bad and wanted $9000+, all they did is hook it to gm computer and pushed it out the door after

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·