GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Car has been charging just find for a few years off of this outlet.

Now, starting to get this failure more often than not, especially when the car requests 12 amps.

Bottom red LEDs blinking steadily.

Top green LEDs blinking a sequence: 3 rightmost LEDS blink at the same time, followed by 2 blinks of the first rightmost LED. Brief pause, then repeats.

I have a youtube video of this, but cannot post as I have zero posts.

As an engineer, I see the green LEDs blinking to be trying to say something...and error code.

The code could be interpreted simply as 3 - 1 - 1.

A computer geek like me would say the LEDs are binary digits, represented as decimal 7 - 1 - 1.

Has anyone else seen anything like this, or have access to documentation that says what the green LED sequence means?

This last time I had to do multiple unplug/replug sequences to get charging again.

--Ken

PS yeah the bungee holding the charger up could use replacing, I know...

·
Administrator
21,218 Posts

·
Registered
907 Posts
Post the text of the youtube URL.
My 2014 blinks the red LED 3 times when (I think) it detects a low voltage condition.
There are many different EVSEs, each no doubt with their own blink codes.
GM just states blink when it detects an error.

The earlier units will blink red when the ground is missing.
The 2013/2014 will be steady red with missing ground.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, the tags do not cover 3-1-1, dash-dot-dot or anything other than "blinking".

In Morse Code, dash-dot-dot is 'D'.

In 5 bit US teletype character set, 00111 00001 00001 is "MTT" (or "UEE" if you consider the rightmost bit most significant).

I posted the youtube ID in my reply to the next response....what is the little man trying to say?

·
Administrator
21,218 Posts
Never seen that. It's either a fault detected or it's desperately saying, "I'm totally f'd up!"